SOUTHEND-ON-SEA BOROUGH COUNCIL

Meeting of The Council

Date: Thursday, 19th May, 2016
Place: Council Chamber - Civic Suite

Present: Councillor McMahon (Chair)

Councillors Evans (Vice-Chair), Moring, Assenheim, Aylen, Ayling, Borton, Butler, Cox, Endersby, Folkard, D Garston, Gilbert, Hadley, Holland, Jarvis, Kenyon, Moyies, Van Looy, Ward, Courtenay, Nevin, Arscott, Callaghan, Flewitt, J Garston, Jones, Lamb, Phillips, Davies,

Mulroney, Buckley, Byford, Davidson, Habermel, McGlone,

M Stafford, Terry, Waterworth, Woodley, Willis, Robinson, Walker, Ware-Lane, Norman MBE, Salter, Boyd, Bright, Burzotta, McDonald

and Wexham

Start/End Time: 6.30 - 7.15 pm

8 Apologies for Absence

There were no apologies for absence at this meeting.

9 Administration for 2016-17 following May 2016 Local Elections and position of Leader

The Worshipful the Mayor drew attention to the Memorandum of Understanding / Confidence and Supply Agreement signed by the Conservative and UKIP Groups to enable a Conservative Administration to operate. In light of this agreement, the Leader gave notice that he had resigned with immediate effect and therefore a new Leader of the Council needed to be elected as provided for in the Constitution.

Resolved:

That Councillor Lamb be appointed as Leader of the Council.

10 Appointments to Cabinet, Cabinet Committee and Changes to the Constitution

The Council considered a report of the Corporate Director for Corporate Services setting out changes to the Cabinet and requesting that consideration be given to several constitutional matters.

Resolved:

- 1. That the revised 8 portfolios confirmed by Councillor Lamb as set out in Appendix 1 to the submitted report, be noted.
- 2. That the appointments to the Cabinet and substitutes made by Councillor Lamb (including the arrangements for Deputy Leader) as set out in List A, as circulated at the meeting, be noted.

- 3. That the appointments to Cabinet Committee and substitutes made by Councillor Lamb as set out in List B, as circulated at the meeting, be noted.
- 4. That the following changes be made to the Constitution:
- (a) Amend the membership of the Performance Related Pay Panel in Section 4.3 of Part 3 Schedule 2 of the Constitution so that it comprises the Leader, the Deputy Leader, one other Cabinet member, the Leaders of the two largest opposition groups and a person independent of the Council;
- (b) Amend the Contracts Procedure Rules in Part 4G in line with European legislation requirements as set out in Section 3.5(b) at Appendix 2 to the submitted report.
- (c) To revise the Board structure of South Essex Homes which now comprises 11 members of which 3 shall be Southend Councillors, and changes to the Articles of Association as detailed in the Special Resolution set out at Appendix 3 of the submitted report.
- (d) To make any necessary changes to the Constitution consequent upon (a) (c) above and to reflect the new titles of the portfolios.
- 5. That the Council's Constitution, including the Scheme of Delegation in Part 3, Schedule 3, be endorsed.

11 Appointment of Members and Substitutes to Regulatory and Scrutiny Committees, Licensing Sub-Committee C, Standards Committee and Audit Committee

Resolved:

That the Members set out in List C, as circulated at the meeting, be appointed as members and substitutes of Regulatory and Scrutiny Committees, Licensing Sub-Committee C, Standards Committee and Audit Committee for the Municipal Year 2016/17.

12 Appointment of Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen to Regulatory and Scrutiny Committees, Licensing Sub-Committee C, Standards Committee and Audit Committee

Upon a requisition for a named vote in accordance with Council Procedure Rule 12.1, a recorded vote was taken concerning the appointment of Chairman and Vice-Chairman of Development Control Committee and the Chairman of the Licensing Committee. The voting was as follows:-

1. Development Control Committee Chairman:

For Cllr Waterworth

Clirs Arscott, Bright, Boyd, Buckley, Burzotta, Butler, Byford, Courtenay, Cox, Davidson, Evans, Flewitt, Folkard, D Garston, J Garston, Habermel, Hadley, Holland, Jarvis, Lamb, McGlone, Moring, Phillips, Salter, Walker and Waterworth (26)

For Cllr D Norman MBE

Cllrs Assenheim, Aylen, Ayling, Borton, Callaghan, Davies, Endersby, Gilbert, Jones, Kenyon, McDonald, Moyies, Mulroney, Nevin, Norman, Robinson, Stafford, Terry, Van Looy, Ward, Ware-Lane, Wexham, Willis and Woodley (24)

Abstentions:

Cllr McMahon (1)

Accordingly Councillor Waterworth was appointed Chairman of Development Control Committee.

2. Development Control Committee Vice-Chairman

For Cllr D Garston

Cllrs Arscott, Bright, Boyd, Buckley, Burzotta, Butler, Byford, Courtenay, Cox, Davidson, Evans, Flewitt, Folkard, D Garston, J Garston, Habermel, Hadley, Holland, Jarvis, Lamb, McGlone, Moring, Phillips, Salter, Walker and Waterworth (26)

For Cllr Assenheim

Cllrs Assenheim, Aylen, Ayling, Borton, Callaghan, Davies, Endersby, Gilbert, Jones, Kenyon, McDonald, Moyies, Mulroney, Nevin, Norman, Robinson, Stafford, Terry, Van Looy, Ward, Ware-Lane, Wexham, Willis and Woodley (24)

Abstentions:

Cllr McMahon (1)

Accordingly Councillor D Garston was appointed Vice-chairman of Development Control Committee.

3. Chairman of Licensing Committee

For Cllr Hadley

Cllrs Arscott, Bright, Boyd, Buckley, Burzotta, Butler, Byford, Courtenay, Cox, Davidson, Evans, Flewitt, Folkard, D Garston, J Garston, Habermel, Hadley, Holland, Jarvis, Lamb, McGlone, Moring, Phillips, Salter, Walker and Waterworth (26)

For Cllr Mulroney

Cllrs Assenheim, Aylen, Ayling, Borton, Callaghan, Davies, Endersby, Gilbert, Jones, Kenyon, McDonald, Moyies, Mulroney, Nevin, Norman, Robinson, Stafford, Terry, Van Looy, Ward, Ware-Lane, Wexham, Willis and Woodley (24)

Abstentions:

Cllr McMahon (1)

Accordingly Councillor Hadley was appointed Chairman of the Licensing Committee.

Resolved:

That the Members set out in List C be appointed as Chairmen and Vice-

Chairmen of Regulatory and Scrutiny Committees, Licensing Sub-Committee C, Standards Committee and Audit Committee for the Municipal Year 2016/17.

| 13 | Appointment of Members and Substitutes to Working Parties, Pa | ınels, |
|----|---|--------|
| | Forums, etc | |

Resolved:

That the Members set out in List D, as circulated at the meeting, be appointed as members and substitutes of Working Parties, Panels, Forums etc for the Municipal Year 2016/17.

Appointment of Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of Working Parties, Panels, Forums, etc (save for Cabinet Working Parties, where Chairmen are appointed by the Leader)

Resolved:

That the Members set out in List D be appointed as Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of Working Parties, Panels, Forums etc for the Municipal Year 2016/17.

15 Appointments to Outside Bodies

Resolved:

That the Members indicated in List E, as circulated at the meeting, be appointed to the outside bodies for the Municipal Year 2016/17.

16 Calendar of Meetings 2016/17

Resolved:

That the calendar of meetings for the municipal year 2016/17, be approved.

| Chairman: | |
|-----------|--|
| | |